My Least Favourite Time of Year

moose and calves 3Spring boosts a time of renewal, maple syrup, animals out of hibernation, new fur babies being born, the smelt run, fishing season opens and the waterways team with new life.  The trees awaken and the hills in Almaguin Highlands become full and green, with carpets of trillium and other woodland flowers beneath.  So why then do I dread this time of year????  Well, it is bug season!  A short lived nuisance maybe but it makes me annoyed and cranky.  I have been told that the little black fly creature is responsible for the pollination of Blue Berries…..really…. that is the least of their purpose because I believe they really here to keep me indoors, miss the good weather by being trapped in screened rooms and make me become a 1black flies are heretester of every bug potion, home remedy and bug repelling gadget on the market.

Our spring weather arrived late, with an abundance of rain keeping everything very cool and wet. The tiny black fly reveled in this perfect weather condition and enticed his cousin mosquito whine a lot to join the party and not just an evening soiree.  Oh No, they decided to make this an extended all day and night affair with millions of guests.  Being outside keeps me grounded, focused, stress free and is my main source of refuge for unwinding from a hectic schedule.  Not during this season however…I get frustrated – swatting the air, out of breath – jogging on the spot and itchy from head to toe the minute I step outdoors.  Ok, maybe I have grossly exaggerated the bug problem but my reaction to them is very real.

When I hear so many people saying that spring is the best season I just interject  ” Bah Hum Bug”

At a new listing on Doe Lake today (a bit of drizzling rain)  there was a delightful, warm, brisk breeze blowing off the water….Not a bug in sight….ahhhhh1little doe

About Louisa Moffit

Working at RE/MAX North country Realty Inc., Brokerage, Burk's Falls Branch, I have been a REALTOR® for the past 20 years and love the area and communities I work in. When showing property or taking listings I always travel with my four legged companions. My clients and I enjoy their company when walking through the forest viewing pristine vacant property which they are interested in purchasing. My dog’s antics through the snow is also a source of amusement to everyone. Getting serious however… viewing properties throughout the area can be a daunting task without the expertise of a real estate agent who knows the area well. That is why I am your “Go To” person for Undiscovered Cottage Country – The Almaguin Highlands
This entry was posted in Almaguin Highlands What's Up? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

